Steps to Take After A Minor Car Accident: Get a Police Report
Registering a police report right after the accident is perfect, but you may be able to present a statement later on if you didn’t contact 911 instantly after the accident. While the law differs from every state, several police departments allow reports to be filed up to 72 hours following a car crash.
Some States Demand You to Report an Accident
But if both cars have left the accident scene, the information won’t be as perfect. Some states demand you to report an accident, and you could be called if you didn’t. For example, If damage to the vehicle you were driving is more than $2,500, you need to file a report in Oregon. While In Ohio, as long as nobody was injured, you don’t have to call the officers. Unless you know your state laws accurately, but it’s best to call and file a report.